• Historic site and monument

La Maison De Rivaz

18th-century aristocratic Valais house.

Historic site and monument La Maison De Rivaz Saint-Gingolph


Saint-Gingolph (CH-1898)

Built in 1752 by Charles-Joseph de Rivaz, with a Bernese-style gabled facade with panelled cradle. Separately owned from the château, it is attached to the château on the east side.

Home to the elementary school (and a pharmacy) where the Sisters of the Presentation of Mary taught until 2008. It also houses the Musée des Traditions et des Barques du Léman on the first floor. On the east side, a large orchard once occupied the Place des Ouches.

Built by a private individual, it is a rare specimen of the fine buildings of the Valais aristocracy in the 18th century, once bordered by a courtyard on the north side, separated from that of the château by a high wall pierced by a porte cochère. The lintel of the main entrance door on the mountain side bears the coats of arms of the builder and his wife Nuçé.

Historic monument owned by the Bourgeoisie since 1837.


Free of charge.


Languages spoken : French


Every day throughout the year.
Closed Saturday and Sunday.

  • Lift
  • Toilets
  • Exhibition space
  • Entertainments room
  • Film room
  • Parking


Place de la Croix-Blanche 1 CH - 1898 Saint-Gingolph
Landing stage less than 500 m
Information update on 06/07/2023 by Office de Tourisme Leman Mountains Explore