• Historic site and monument

Saint Nicolas la Chapelle church

This baroque church dedicated to Saint Nicolas dates from the 18th century. It is remarkable for its bell tower with double lantern, its sculpted porch, its frescoes and its canopy altar. Do not miss this last ornament: it is unique in Savoie!

Historic site and monument Saint Nicolas la Chapelle church Saint-Nicolas-la-Chapelle

About

Saint-Nicolas-la-Chapelle (73590)
Unguided individual tours available permanently
Guided individual tours on request

Formerly the village was called Saint-Nicolas-de-Flumet, it was then given the name of Saint-Nicolas-la-Chapelle in memory of an old chapel dedicated to Saint Nicolas located a little higher than the current church. It was built between 1774 and 1776: the previous one threatened to fall into ruin. It was so damaged that we preferred to destroy it to rebuild a larger and airy building.
Saint Nicolas is well known in the region, especially since the village of Saint-Nicolas-de-Véroce, near Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, received a very long time ago - in the 11th century - a bone from the wrist of the true Saint Nicholas, protector of children and schoolchildren.
The furniture made for the new building, fortunately well preserved from the ravages of the Revolution, was increased by a few elements in the 19th century. It was then that the building was also adorned with a majestic bell tower and frescoes under its vaults.
Its architectural quality and the richness of its furniture earned this church its inclusion in the supplementary inventory of Historic Monuments in 1989.

Group reservation on demand:
david.dereani@fondation-facim.fr (+33(0)4 79 60 58 99)

Documentation available in French and English.

Prices

Free of charge

Reception

Languages visits : German, English, French, Italian

Opening

Throughout the year : open daily from 8 AM to 7 PM.

Labels and rating

Registered at the monuments and historic sites
Baroque
18th C

Equipments
  • Parking

Access

73590 Saint-Nicolas-la-Chapelle
Information update on 30/04/2021 by Office de Tourisme du Val d'Arly