• Cultural, Entertainment/recreation

Les Concerts du Jeudi : Opus Jam - "Douce France " A cappella

Opus Jam is an a cappella vocal group with 6 singers from different musical backgrounds. No musical instrument accompanies the 6 voices. In this show, Opus Jam will perform the standards of French song! It's a performance not to be missed!

Cultural, Entertainment/recreation Les Concerts du Jeudi : Opus Jam - "Douce France " A cappella Megève

About

On Thursday 28 July 2022 in 18:00:00
Megève (74120)

The story of Opus Jam began in 1995 when the founder, Emmanuel Cappelaere, met the American gospel band "Acappella". He had a decisive realisation that, when unaccompanied, the voice expresses itself with a strength and intensity that is all the greater because it is the only instrument. In 2009, on the advice of the Dreyfus Music label, Emmanuel decided to move towards more varied musical horizons and richer arrangements and thus created Opus Jam with 5, and then 6, voices.

Shortly afterwards, Ibrahim Maalouf spotted the group on the internet and asked them to open for him at La Cigale in Paris in October 2014. Didier Lockwood recommended the group to many jazz festivals, writing: "The power and warmth of the voices, as well as the musicality that I could hear through the very sharp and perfectly executed arrangements on stage, make Opus Jam in my eyes the best a cappella group in France. Very nice discovery! You will undoubtedly hear about them". This was followed by beautiful collaborations with All That Jazz, qualifying the group as his favourite of 2016.

In May 2016, Opus Jam was invited to participate in the closing ceremony of the Cannes Film Festival with Ibrahim Maalouf. Since then, the group has been performing in Asia and Europe with a Motown-themed show and the idea of making the a cappella style more accessible through internationally-known melodies. In May 2017, Opus Jam was selected to represent France at the Moscow Spring A Cappella Festival. From among 167 groups, the Grand Prix was awarded to Opus Jam, who thus became the winner of the international a cappella festival competition.
Armed with all these successes, Opus Jam sets out to meet its audience with talent, generosity, humour and accessibility; the fruit of hard work, made in France.
In 2019, a new show in French, "Douce France", will give concrete expression to their desire to spread French music throughout the world.

Prices

Free of charge. Fallback to the Palais auditorium in the event of rain.

Reception

Languages spoken : French

Dates

Thursday 28 July 2022 at 6 pm.

Access

70 rue Monseigneur Conseil BP 23 74120 Megève
Information update on 19/05/2022 by Mairie de Megève

• Culture, Distractions et loisirs

Les Concerts du Jeudi : Opus Jam - "Douce France " A cappella

Opus Jam est un groupe vocal a cappella composé de 6 chanteurs d'horizons musicaux différents. Aucun instrument de musique n'accompagne les 6 voix. Dans ce spectacle, Opus Jam s’attaque aux standards de la chanson française! une véritable performance!

Culture, Distractions et loisirs Les Concerts du Jeudi : Opus Jam - "Douce France " A cappella Megève

À propos

Le Jeudi 28 juillet 2022 à 18:00:00
Megève (74120)

L’histoire d’Opus Jam commence en 1995 quand le fondateur, Emmanuel Cappelaere, rencontre la formation de gospel américaine “Acappella”. Le coup de coeur opère par une prise de conscience décisive: les voix s’expriment avec une force et une intensité d’autant plus grandes qu’elles sont le seul instrument. En 2009, sur les conseils du label Dreyfus Music, Em­manuel décide de s’orienter vers des horizons musicaux plus variés, des arrangements plus riches et crée ainsi Opus Jam à 5 puis 6 voix.

Peu de temps après, Ibrahim Maalouf repère le groupe sur internet et lui propose de faire sa première partie lors de son passage à La Cigale à Paris en octobre 2014. Didier Lockwood recommande le groupe à de nombreux festivals de Jazz en écrivant : « La puissance et la chaleur des voix ainsi que la musicalité que j’ai pu entendre à travers les arrangements très pointus et parfaitement exécutés sur scène font d’Opus Jam à mes yeux la meilleure formation à Cappella en France. Très belle découverte ! Vous allez sans doute entendre parler d’eux ». S’en suivent de belles collaborations avec All That Jazz qualifiant le groupe comme son coup de cœur 2016.

En mai 2016, Opus Jam est invité à participer à la clôture du Festival de Cannes avec Ibrahim Maalouf. Depuis, le groupe opère aussi bien en Asie qu’en Europe avec un spectacle autour du thème de la Motown et l’idée de « démocratiser » le style a cappella par le biais de mélodies internationalement connues. En mai 2017, Opus Jam est sélectionné pour représenter la France au Moscou Spring A Cappella Festival. Parmi 167 groupes, Le Grand Prix est attribué à Opus Jam qui devient ainsi le lauréat du concours du festival international du chant a cappella.
Fort de toutes ces richesses, Opus Jam part à la rencontre de son public, armé de talent, de générosité, d’humour, d’ac­cessibilité; le fruit d’un travail acharné, made in France.
En 2019, un nouveau spectacle en français « Douce France » viendra concrétiser leur désir de faire rayonner la musique française partout dans le monde.

Tarifs

Gratuit. Repli à l'auditorium du Palais en cas de pluie.

Accueil

Langues parlées : Français

Dates

Jeudi 28 juillet 2022 à 18h.

Accès

70 rue Monseigneur Conseil BP 23 74120 Megève
Information mise à jour le 19/05/2022 par Mairie de Megève