• Cultural

Georgia Russel « ORNÉ DE JOURS »

In Georgia Russel's work, the book sculptures present themselves to the viewer as an unidentified object, an unknown hybrid thanks to the meticulous scalpel cutting. Books are dissected and then unfold into sculptural volumes.

Cultural Georgia Russel « ORNÉ DE JOURS » Valloire

About

On Friday 09 February 2024
Valloire (73450)

The artist's wall work unfolds a play of colors, transparencies, spaces, and lights.

For Georgia Russel, cutting with a scalpel is the equivalent of a painter's brushstroke: cutting is akin to drawing. "Cutting is a form of freedom of expression. For me, it's like drawing, but here I draw with a scalpel."

Georgia Russell works with surgical precision, diverting the scalpel from its medical function to make it an artistic tool. To create her three-dimensional paper works, she meticulously cuts scores, drawings, newspapers, and photographs, sometimes even entire books, transforming conventional objects into fantastic works of art. She sources materials from flea markets or antique shops. Discarded and forgotten, these objects evoke a personal history, and the information they contain makes tangible eras long gone.

The artist sometimes spares certain parts, such as the spine of a book or the front page of a newspaper, turning them into connecting links between the past and the present and imbuing them with a second life and new meaning.

In this way, Georgia Russel creates spaces that resemble light ornaments and 17th-century Baroque paintings.

Georgia Russell was born in 1974 in Elgin, Scotland. In 2000, she graduated from the Royal College of Art in London with a master's degree in artistic printing techniques. This artist is already recognized, as evidenced by the numerous solo and group exhibitions dedicated to her by renowned international institutions, including "Slash: Paper under the Knife" at the Museum of Arts and Design in New York, and "The Book Borrowers: Contemporary Artists Transforming the Book" at the Bellevue Arts Museum in Washington.

Some of her works are featured in prestigious private and public collections, including the Victoria & Albert Museum in London and the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris. She regularly exhibits at the Karsten Greve Gallery.

Georgia Russell lives and works in Méru, France.

Prices

Free access.

Reception

Languages spoken : French

Dates

From 09/02 to 19/03/2024, daily.

Access

Eglise Notre Dame de l'Assomption Rue des Grandes Alpes 73450 Valloire
Information update on 13/02/2024 by Office de Tourisme de Valloire

• Culture

Georgia Russel « ORNÉ DE JOURS »

Dans le travail de Georgia Russel, les livres sculptures se présentent au spectateur comme un objet non identifié, un hybride inconnu grâce au travail de lacération au scalpel. Des livres sont ainsi disséqués avant de se déployer en un volume sculptural.

Culture Georgia Russel « ORNÉ DE JOURS » Valloire

À propos

Le Vendredi 09 février 2024
Valloire (73450)

Le travail mural de l’artiste déploie lui un jeu de couleurs, de transparences, de jours et de lumières.
Pour Georgia Russel la découpe au scalpel est l’équivalant d’une touche picturale : découper équivaut à dessiner : "Le découpage est une forme de liberté d’expression. Pour moi, cela revient à du dessin mais ici je dessine avec un scalpel." Georgia Russell travaille avec une précision chirurgicale, détournant le scalpel de sa fonction médicale pour en faire un outil artistique. 
Pour réaliser ses travaux en papier en trois dimensions, elle découpe très minutieusement des partitions, des dessins, des journaux et des photographies, parfois même des livres entiers, transformant ainsi des objets conventionnels en œuvres d’art fantastiques. Elle se fournit en matériaux dans des brocantes ou chez des antiquaires. Mis un jour au rebut, ces objets renvoient à une histoire personnelle, et les informations qu’ils contiennent rendent tangibles des époques depuis longtemps révolues.
Il arrive que l’artiste épargne certaines parties, comme le dos d’un livre ou la une d’un journal, faisant ainsi de ces objets là des traits d’union entre le passé et le présent et leur conférant par cette transformation une deuxième vie et une nouvelle signification. 
Ainsi Georgia Russel crée des jours, proches des ornements de lumière et des peintures baroque du 17° siècle.

Georgia Russell est née en 1974, à Elgin, en Écosse.
 En 2000, elle est sortie du Royal Collège of Art londonien avec un master en techniques d’impression artistiques. Cette artiste jouit déjà d’une certaine reconnaissance, comme en témoignent les nombreuses expositions personnelles ou collectives que lui ont consacrées des institutions renommées sur le plan international, notamment Slash. Paper under the Knife au Museum of Arts and Design, à New York, ou The Book Borrowers. Contemporary Artists transforming the Book, au Bellevue Arts Museum, à Washington. 
Certains de ses travaux figurent dans de prestigieuses collections privées et publiques, parmi lesquelles le Victoria & Albert Museum, à Londres, et le Centre Georges Pompidou, à Paris et expose régulièrement à la Galerie Karsten Greve. 
 Georgia Russell vit et travaille à Méru, France.

Tarifs

Accès libre.

Accueil

Langues parlées : Français

Dates

Du 09/02 au 19/03/2024, tous les jours.

Accès

Eglise Notre Dame de l'Assomption Rue des Grandes Alpes 73450 Valloire

En savoir plus

Information mise à jour le 13/02/2024 par Office de Tourisme de Valloire