• Entertainment/recreation

Festival Parsi-Parla : Rana Farhan

Iranian artist Rana Farhan sings in a cool bluesy style that transcends time and erases all borders, wowing listeners worldwide. With each new release Rana redefines a genre that seems to be hers alone.

Entertainment/recreation Festival Parsi-Parla : Rana Farhan Excenevex

About

On Saturday 15 June 2024 in 21:00:00
Excenevex (74140)

Born in Iran, Rana grew up listening to any albums she could get her hands on, fostering a love for American blues artists like Odetta and Leadbelly; while rockin’ to Jimmy Hendrix and Janis Joplin. Rana left Iran after graduating from Tehran University and she soon found herself in New York City, exploring her talents in lacquer paintings and soaking in the sounds and music of Manhattan, including the rich cultural district of Harlem where she discovered her love of jazz.

It was in New York that Rana first teamed with guitarist/ producer Steven Toub for her first full-length CD “The Blues Are Brewin’”, a collection of American jazz and blues standards. But it was Farhan’s second release “I Return”, a unique fusion of classical Persian poetry with contemporary blues and jazz music that really set the world on fire.

The Parsi Parla festival was born of the desire to bring Persian artistic culture, its music, its instruments, its literature and its colours to as many people as possible.

Prices

Free of charge.

Reception

Languages spoken : French

Dates

Saturday 15 June 2024 at 9 pm.

Access

Parc du Pré Cottin 74140 Excenevex

More informations

Information update on 05/04/2024 by Office de Tourisme intercommunal Destination Léman

• Distractions et loisirs

Festival Parsi-Parla : Rana Farhan

L'artiste iranienne Rana Farhan chante dans un style bluesy cool qui transcende le temps et efface toutes les frontières, séduisant les auditeurs du monde entier. À chaque nouvel album, Rana redéfinit un genre qui semble n'appartenir qu'à elle.

Distractions et loisirs Festival Parsi-Parla : Rana Farhan Excenevex

À propos

Le Samedi 15 juin 2024 à 21:00:00
Excenevex (74140)

Née en Iran, Rana a grandi en écoutant tous les albums qui lui tombaient sous la main, se passionnant pour les artistes de blues américains comme Odetta et Leadbelly, tout en se laissant bercer par Jimmy Hendrix et Janis Joplin. Rana a quitté l'Iran après avoir obtenu son diplôme à l'université de Téhéran et s'est rapidement retrouvée à New York, où elle a exploré ses talents de peintre sur laque et s'est imprégnée des sons et de la musique de Manhattan, notamment du riche quartier culturel de Harlem, où elle a découvert sa passion pour le jazz.

C'est à New York que Rana a fait équipe avec le guitariste et producteur Steven Toub pour son premier CD "The Blues Are Brewin'", une collection de standards de jazz et de blues américains. Mais c'est le deuxième album de Farhan, "I Return", une fusion unique de poésie classique persane et de musique contemporaine blues et jazz, qui a mis le feu aux poudres.

Le festival Parsi Parla est né de la volonté de faire découvrir au plus grand nombre la culture artistique persane, sa musique, ses instruments, sa littérature et ses couleurs.

Tarifs

Gratuit.

Accueil

Langues parlées : Français

Dates

Samedi 15 juin 2024 à 21h.

Accès

Parc du Pré Cottin 74140 Excenevex

En savoir plus

Information mise à jour le 05/04/2024 par Office de Tourisme intercommunal Destination Léman