The name of ‘Bersend,’ or ‘Mont Bersend’ in the past, could have two different origins: either the name of a local inhabitant or the word ‘berceau’ (cradle in French) pronounced ‘bercein’ in local dialect, which perfectly evokes the site of the hamlet. The chapel was built in 1624 on the village square. The clock in the bell tower inspired Joseph Elie VIALLET, a poet of the 19th century who was a native of the village. On the front of the chapel, the arched lintel bears the date 1884, the date of its restoration. The exterior walls are very sober, contrary to the interior, which is typical of popular Baroque art. One of the most attractive villages in the Beaufort region, Le Bersend offers visitors a perfect tranquillity.
Free of charge
Throughout the year : open daily.
- Car park
Information update on 27/03/2017 by Office de Tourisme d'Arêches-Beaufort